Home > Citrix, XenApp > Configuring Clients for Citrix XenApp 6

Configuring Clients for Citrix XenApp 6

Update (5/22/2010):  I have modified the instructions on my main article, Installing and Configuring Citrix XenApp 6, to include everything listed below.

Last time I discussed installing the Citrix XenApp 6 server.  In this episode I’ll run through configuring a client computer for XenApp 6.  One important thing to note is that you should be running the latest version of the Citrix XenApp Online Plugin client version 12.  You can download it here.  I had issues getting previous versions of the Plugin to connect to the XenApp 6 server, but with version 12 all is well.  Also since Program Neighborhood is no longer included with the current Plugin client that functionality appears to no longer be supported.  Instead we’ll use a XenApp Services Site (formerly Program Neighborhood Agent) to provide the settings for our client to connect through.

Configure XenApp Services Site

On the XenApp server, go to Start > All Programs > Citrix > Management Consoles > Citrix Web Interface Management.

On the left select XenApp Services Sites, then on the right under Actions select Create Site.

Click Next.

Click Next.

Type the name of your Citrix farm.  Then click Add and enter the name(s) of your XenApp servers.  If you modified the XML Service port change it now.  Click Next.

Right now we’ll only publish applications hosted on the XenApp servers.  Select Online, then click Next.

Confirm settings and click Finish.

Publish XenApp Application

Next we need to publish an application from the XenApp server for us to test our client connection.  Go to Start > All Programs > Citrix > Management Consoles > Citrix Delivery Services Console.

Navigate to XenApp > Applications on the left, then click Publish Application on the right Actions pane.

Click Next.

Type a name for the application to publish, then click Next.

Keep the defaults, click Next.

Now under command line click Browser and navigate to the executable of the program you’d like to publish.  Now click Next.

Click Add to select which servers will host the application.

Double click Servers.  Highlight your server, click Add, then click OK.

Click Next.

Click Add to select which users receive access to the application.

The Citrix User Selector will prompt for your domain credentials if this is an Active Directory domain.

Double click Users.

Highlight Domain Users, click Add, then click OK.

Click Next.

Click Next.  Finally click Finish on the final screen.

Test Full Plugin Client Connection

Now we need to installed the Online Plugin client on our workstation.  There are two clients bundled in the Plugin client download, I will install the Full Plugin client, CitrixOnlinePluginFull.exe.  It will proceeed with the installation.  Once completed it should prompt you for the server.

Enter your server name and click Update.  It should now ask for your logon credentials.  If it doesn’t, right click the Citrix icon in the system tray and select Log On.

Enter your a user, password, and domain if this is an Active Directory environment and click OK.

Now left click the Citrix icon and select your application that you published earlier.  You should now be running your first XenApp 6 published application!

Categories: Citrix, XenApp Tags: ,
  1. May 16, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    hello
    i’m so thrilled that i saw this website. that article was so insightful. thanks again i saved this article.
    are you going to write similar news?

  2. December 13, 2010 at 12:20 am

    i am professional illustrator, maybe you would like to use some of my pictures? i think it would be nice for your cms :-)
    totally like your blog! send me a e-mail please in case you want to see my photos

  3. Richard Heg
    March 25, 2011 at 1:21 am

    Hi Aaron,

    I am a starter for Citrix world. I am very lucky to find your blog site using Google search.

    I got a project at my work to finish within next month. I will appreciate your help a lot. The requirement is we have to provide remote terminal access for 10 users. I am thinking about a XenApp Web interface server with CSG, 2 XenApp server and a SQL server. All of them would be on Windows 2008 R2.

    The user will have Office application and 2 other web application access from external source within our office facility.

    Am I going to the right direction? Can you please me to suggest any ideal solution for it? Thanks in advance.

    • March 29, 2011 at 5:15 am

      That sounds like a good plan you’ve got, Richard. Although you could probably get away with a single XenApp server also hosting the datastore on it as well, from an availability perspective what you are proposing would give you many more options. In my opinion the XenApp servers themselves are where you are most likely to encounter issues, such as problems related to updating an application or the load generated by clients working within their respective XenApp sessions. Having 2 XenApp servers allows you to perform maintenance on one while users continue to work on the other. The maintenance and load are much more minimal of issues on the CSG and SQL servers. In a much bigger environment it would become more important to have redundancy for the CSG and for the SQL datastore, but for 10 users it is probably overkill.

      Best wishes and welcome to the Citrix world!

      Aaron

  4. timn0042@gmail.com
    March 28, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    Hi Aaron,

    Thanks very much for allowing techs like me who are new Citrix get some needed help, and baby steps into Citrix XenApp World. I used Google search after days of frustrations looking for a good XenApp book or blogs that are worthy reading. You’ve made a huge difference in my learning curve and wanna thank you for taking the time. My only question, for a tech like me with minimal hardware and resources; how can I gain a good hands on experience with Citrix XenApp 6 client or server? I’ll be more responsible for the XenApp client as far as tech support is concerned. And am trying to get my hands dirty before we launch Citrix enviroment in few months, the Entriprise group is building the Citrix infrastrature and I’ll be providing tech support to our clients.
    Thanks for all your help..and hope you will continue to share your match needed background.

    • March 29, 2011 at 4:59 am

      Hi Tim,

      Depending on your level of comfort you may want to go ahead and try installing a XenApp server yourself and checking out how it works. I have a post here which documents the install process. From my personal experience learning the product hands on has been the best way to get up to speed on it. If you have minimal hardware, I would definitely recommend using some type of virtualization product to test with. Even if it means running a single virtual Xenapp server on your PC. VMware Workstation, VMware Player and Virtualbox all work very well in this role.

      Another option for you to consider is some type of CBT training. CBTNuggets has a very good XenApp computer based training course, it might still be based on XenApp 5 but it has many things in common with XenApp 6. Also Trainsignal may have a course but I can’t remember for sure.

      A good web site that may be of interest for you is http://www.msterminalservices.org/. It is focused a lot on terminal services as the name suggests but a lot of it could be relevant to XenApp.

      Best wishes and good luck with Citrix!

      Aaron

  5. Richard Heg
    March 30, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    Hi Aaron,

    Thank you so much for your recommendation. I do appreciate it.

    My company is looking to deploy a solution for max 25 users of having Terminal/Remote desktop access to one of our hosted internal applications using Internet explorer and in addition MS office and adobe reader.

    Can you give me any consultation based on detail configuration instruction and trouble shooting techniques for this implementation? Let me know your expectation.

    We want to use 1 XenApp Web interface server with CSG, 2 XenApp servers and 1 SQL server for SQL 2005/2008 for Citrix databases, Citrix Licensing, Remote Desktop Licensing and User shares for redirected folders and user shares.

  6. Rick
    May 10, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    Hi Aaron,
    Great blog. I successfully installed XenApp6. I published a few applications. As for the client configuration, at the logon prompt, I entered a domain account and created a connectivity. I am stuck here –> Now left click the Citrix icon and select your application that you published earlier. You should now be running your first XenApp 6 published application!

    I didn’t see any published application. What am I missing?
    Thank you.

    Rick

  7. george esparza
    May 13, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    Nice job …being a Citrix newbie ….you could call this “Citrix for Dummies”
    thanks …the install went good must a got direction from another of your posts.
    now this might get me over the hump and start making connections..looking for info on XenApp to connect to another existing server to make connections…thanks again

  8. Robert
    June 29, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Hello, I’m new to citrix in general and I’m trying to test XenApp 6. I’ve gone ahead and installed XenApp, license server, and web interface with no problem. At this point, I’ve published a notepad app on the XenApp server, but I’m not able to launch it. I did notice that the Application Server and the Remote Desktop Services roles get installed along with XenApp. So, my question is how do I configure Remote Desktop Services to be able to test out XenApp, if any configuration is needed? When I test out through a browser, I see my published app, get authenticated, but cannot launch it. At first I thought that I need Remote Desktop Services licenses,but the grace period is 120 days.

    any help is much appreciated,

    thanks,

    • June 29, 2011 at 10:55 pm

      Hi Robert,

      One thing you may want to verify is whether the user itself or a group the user is a member of is part of the Remote Desktop Users local group on the XenApp server. By default only members of the Administrators group have access to remote desktop/terminal services. Unless a group is specified during the XenApp installation standard non-privileged users would be denied terminal access. The fact that you can see the published app leads me to believe you have permissions configured correctly on the XenApp side of things.

      Regards,
      Aaron

      • Robert
        June 30, 2011 at 2:55 pm

        Hi Aaron,

        I thought it might be a permissions issue, but I’m using a domain admin account for testing which is a local admin on the XenApp 6 server. I even added domain admin account on the local Remote Desktop Users just to be sure, but still no luck. Interestingly, when I do login through web interface, I see my user name as connected on the Remote Desktop Services Manager through an ICA. connection. On the Citrix Delivery Services Console, I don’t see my user name under the server session or the published app session. By the way, I’ve turned off all the windows firewall on the XenApp and web interface server.

        thanks,

    • Robert
      June 30, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      Sorry for all the trouble Aaron, the issue turns out to be a Service Pack 1. I was able to launch my notepad test published app as soon as I uninstalled SP1. Thanks and keep up the good work.

  9. Bill
    July 15, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    I got all the way to Citrix Delivery Services Console, but XenApp on the left had no subnodes, where I should select Applications under my farm name, all that’s missing. Any idea what I might have done wrong?

    • Bill
      July 18, 2011 at 10:05 pm

      I now have the sub-nodes, I had not run the discovery wizard. After completing that they all appeared and I’m on to the publishing wizard. Thanks again, this is the most useful Citrix sourse I can find.

      • July 18, 2011 at 10:54 pm

        Thanks for following up on your issue, Bill. Glad you got it figured out!

        Aaron

  10. Mark
    July 21, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    Great articles – Thank you!

    Do you have any covering the process to publish Microsoft Office 2010 on a XenApp 6 server? I understand that different type keys need to be setup so that each individual users does not need to register their copy with Microsoft.

    Thanks again.

    • July 22, 2011 at 2:47 am

      Hi Mark,

      I’m not sure if I understand you correctly, but it sounds as though you want to deploy settings for Office to prevent users from being prompted for registration and configuration of update settings the first time Office is run for each user. In that case you’d want to use the Office 2010 administrative templates to create group policy settings for the XenApp servers to prevent this. Here is some info, note this is geared toward an Active Directory environment:

      http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc179081.aspx

      Aaron

  1. April 19, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Leave a Reply

