Home > Citrix, XenApp > Installing and Configuring Citrix XenApp 6

Installing and Configuring Citrix XenApp 6

With the recent release of Citrix XenApp 6 I’ve begun testing this version as we prepare to upgrade our Windows terminal server environment.  Probably the biggest reason for upgrading is that XenApp 6 offers support for Windows Server 2008 R2.  There are also a number of changes in the tools used to administer your Citrix farm.  In the recent past you had to use multiple tools for administration as Citrix migrated functionality into the MMC.  This seems to now be mostly complete.  The updates to the tools are welcome, but include a bit of relearning to find all the new methods and places to make configuration changes.

If you are evaluating and testing XenApp 6, Citrix has a developer license available that allows you to test with a single user for 1 year.  Search the internet for “citrix developer license” for details.  There is also a 99 user evaluation license available that is valid for 90 days.

Installing XenApp Server

Before starting the installation I disabled the IE Enhanced Security Configuration.  Generally it is a good idea to leave this on, but in this situation we’ll need access to the Licensing Server Web Console and IE ESC make this more difficult.  Start the Server Manager.

Select “Configure IE ESC” on the right side.

Select Off for both Administrators and Users, then click OK.

Insert the XenApp 6 install DVD.  I encountered difficulty running the install from a shared folder on another server so my recommendation would be to run directly from the DVD or extract the files to a local drive on the server.  If the Citrix XenApp install window does not automatically start run autorun.exe from the base directory.

Select Install XenApp Server.

If you have not yet installed .Net 3.5 SP1 it will prompt that it will be installed, click OK.

Now at the Role Manager screen click “Add server roles” on the right.

Select your XenApp edition.

Read the license agreement, select the check box to accept the license agreement, and click Next.

Select the role(s) you would like to install.  I will choose the License Server, XenApp, and Web Interface.  In a production environment you may want to install the License Server on a separate non-XenApp server.  The same goes for your Web Interface servers.  Click Next.

Click Next.

The installation will include a bunch of prerequisites that need to be installed.  The first is the activation of the Remote Desktop Session Host role/Terminal Services application mode which will require the server to reboot mid-install.  One of the nice things about XenApp 6 is that the installation of prerequisites has been simplified.  Click Next.

Last chance to bail.  Click Install.

Click Finish.

Back at the Role Manager window it tells us the XenApp configuration has a reboot pending because of the Remote Desktop Server role installed earlier.  Select Reboot or manually proceed to reboot the server.

Once we’ve logged back on after the reboot the Role Manager screen should pop back up.  Click Resume Install under the XenApp configuration task.

Click Install.

If the install was successful you will see the above.  Click Finish.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

Categories: Citrix, XenApp Tags: ,
  1. Alvin
    April 29, 2010 at 3:58 am

    Hello Aaron,

    I am having a hard time installing XenApp 6.0 on Windows Server 2008 R2 in a stand-alone (workgroup) mode. I always got an error message saying “…\Xenapp server role manager exited with error code -1.”

    I tried adding Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 SP1 Redistributable (x64) and Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable (x64) manually, but it didn’t solve the problem.

    I also tried adding application server role, file services role, and terminal server role one by one, but those didn’t solve the problem either.

    Do you have any suggestions? You may reply to as1197@gmail.com

    Thank you,

    Alvin

    • May 21, 2010 at 12:54 am

      Hi Alvin,

      Sorry for my delayed reply, but I wanted get a chance to test the installation of XenApp in a workgroup before responding. In my workgroup environment I did not receive the error that you got. Originally I did get many errors when I tried to install XenApp from a file share, so I switched over to installing from a locally mounted iso image.

      I will be rewriting the installation instructions shortly to include information on the prerequisites (such as the remote desktop/terminal server role and licensing) that I may have glossed over in the original article.

      Aaron

  2. Adam
    May 12, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Hey thanks for this. I am new to the Citrix side of things and could not figure out the licensing.

  3. Thom
    May 20, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Thank you for this. Great guide, it helped me a lot!

    The licensing-bit is really a hassle.

    Regards

  4. Santhosh Kumar
    May 26, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Hi Aaron,

    Thanks for making it simpler with screenshot and capturing data on step by step process of installation and configuration of XenApp.

    Its been a very good learning experience.

    Have a nice day!

    Cheers,
    Santhosh

  5. ToddH
    May 28, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Any chance of making these into PDF files? I’d like to have a local copy just in case I need a reference when at a customer site.

  6. Mike
    July 6, 2010 at 5:36 am

    Hi

    I’m having issues trying to join a new server to an existing XA6 farm. When I test the entered credentials (ie administrator/) I get a “The test failed for the following reason: Network-related error”

    This has been doing my head in for ages. There are no firewalls in place, no policies, all servers can see each other(pingable via IP and DNS and can browse shares). Database is SQLExpress on existing farm server.

    Citris Support are nothing short of f#$#ing useless.

    Ideas, comments greatly appreciated.

    Great tute on installing BTW. Was a great help.

    Cheers
    Mike

    • July 9, 2010 at 4:19 am

      Hi Mike,

      Sorry for my delay, I wanted to test adding a new XA6 to an existing farm before replying. Unfortunately I have changed my test environment and am using a separate SQL Server so I’m not sure how relevant my info may be to you.

      When I ran the install on the new server it prompted me to create an ODBC data source for the SQL database. So my thinking is that your instance of SQL Express on the first server may not be configured to accept remote TCP/IP connections. I believe this may be the default setting, and it can be changed in the SQL Surface Area Config Tool.

      Also depending on the Windows user account and password you are using for the installation you may need to set up a new login in the SQL Express database. If you are using a user account/password combination that matches on both servers or a domain account this shouldn’t be a problem, however.

      Best wishes,

      Aaron

    • Abbas Ali
      October 5, 2011 at 2:45 pm

      Hi MIke,

      i had the same issue to the 2nd xenapp6 to the existing farm. i am also using sql express.
      it seems a little tweak where is asks select new farm or existing farm, select existing farm (as you must be doing). now do not select the Express database instead go to the second option “Existing Microsoft SQL Server databse” then detail the server name as “servername\SQLEXPRESS” (if the instance name is SQL Express). then specify your databse name (in database field). authentication integrated windows etc. I hope it will help.

      • Mark Gallon
        November 30, 2011 at 12:24 am

        I had the same issue after cloning a server in an existing farm, after running sysprep I spent an age being angry at the console – wish I had seen the above earlier – thanks, this workaround saved me too,

        Mark

      • Jim Chan
        December 1, 2011 at 8:55 pm

        Thanks Abbas Ali
        That fixed my issue

      • Patrick
        December 13, 2011 at 4:30 pm

        Hi Ali, thanks! Your solution did it!

      • steve
        April 12, 2012 at 7:17 pm

        Abbas Ali, I could kiss you, that has saved me after hours of head scratching!!

    • Bill
      February 29, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      I know this thread is old but for those who find this i hope it helps!

      I had an issue with cloning a VM on VMWare in which if you dont seal it with SYSPREP as the final step before you save it as a template, the machine name changes but not the SIDs inside. You have to SYSREP your images or you wont be able to talk to SQL it will complain about “network Related error..” and another about wrong domain depending on how you type the server name /instance and DB name.

      This is true if you are using ghost images or something else. DO NOT USE NEWSID.EXE it will change everything especially on Server 2008 !!!!!
      You can download PSTools PSGETSID.exe and verify your machines SIDs. SYSPREP is built into Server 2008. Previous versions require download.

      Cheers and Goodluck!
      B

  7. Francisco
    September 21, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    hola recibia el error …\Xenapp server role manager exited with error code -1 y lo que hice fue probar con otro windows 2008 R2 y funcionó! tanto en un dominio como grupo de trabajo.
    saludos

  8. Vince Rabuffo
    December 16, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    Thanks for the instructions, Our Citrix infrastructure is up and running. I just have one question, how do you go about using https for the online plugin to communicate with XenApp. In our environment it works going through a browser but when I change the server adress in the online plugin to https://servername (my server) I recieve a certificate error– the security certificate presented by this server is for a different server address. Any thoughts??

    • December 17, 2010 at 2:57 pm

      Hi Vince,

      I have not tried what you are describing, but in principle I believe it should work. If I understand you correctly and you want to connect through the Secure Gateway using the Online Plugin, you would need to configure the Xenapp Services Site in the same way as the XenApp Web Site (ie, make sure that the connection method is set to Gateway Direct among other things).

      Also, with the error you are describing it sounds as if the Common Name on the certificate you are using and the hostname you are connecting to may be different? Perhaps that is the cause of your error.

      I’ll give this a try if I get a chance. I never really pursued this option but it may be more convenient for my external users.

      Best Wishes,

      Aaron

  9. Andreas
    January 14, 2011 at 10:39 am

    Great Help!! Thanks!

  10. James Rytter
    January 27, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    “\Xenapp server role manager exited with error code -1.”

    I got this error when attempting to install the software to a server 2008 SP2 machine, you will need to upgrade to Release ‘R2’. This should solve it assuming you are not on R2…

    • January 28, 2011 at 4:42 am

      Thanks and good point, James. It is my understanding that XenApp 6 requires 2008 R2. To install on the original server 2008 (R1) product only XenApp 5 is supported.

  11. February 4, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I noticed a small typo on page 3, make sure that when you are configuring the Xenapp Service Site (screen shot half way down page 3) that port 8080 is used per your earlier steps. It looks like you used port 8080 on the last screen shot, but on the actual setup screen shot it was left at 80. Just looking to make it better! Thanks for the guide, it’s one of the best.

    • February 4, 2011 at 7:48 pm

      Aha! And now I see where you did change it to 8080 two screen shots later. Thanks again!

      • February 7, 2011 at 4:33 am

        Thanks, I’m glad you brought it up anyway just in case there was an error. Occasionally I will miss a screen-shot and will take one on a different installation, since it is another install everything in the screens may not always match. I try and make a note of these discrepancies in text of the article, however.

        Best Wishes,

        Aaron

  12. vios
    February 16, 2011 at 6:34 am

    Hi,
    Great guide.

    Citrix support is crap. I’m having this problem installing on W2K8 R2 x64 – IMA service failed to start when running the XenApp Server Configuration wizard. These are the logs from the Eventviewer.

    Event id 7024 – The Citrix Independent Management Architecture service terminated with service-specific error %%-2147483647.
    Event id 3601 – Failed to load initial plugins with error IMA_RESULT_FAILURE
    Event id 3609 – Failed to load plugin C:\Program Files (x86)\Citrix\System32\Citrix\IMA\SubSystems\RADESessionSs.dll with error IMA_RESULT_FAILURE

    Could you please shed some light on this? I googled and tried stuff from the Citrix KB, but none seems to work at this moment.

    Truly appreciate your help. :)

  13. Rohit
    February 21, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Awesome guide – very very helpful! Thank you for writing this and making it available! Helps remove Citrix phobia. Citrix should pay you $5K just for writing this!

    I was getting an error installing Citrix Management – looking in eventviewer pointed to error installing ASC_PasswordManager.msi.

    I fixed this by going to J:\Support\vcredist on the install media and right click “Run as Admin” on each file there.

  14. Bob Sapp
    February 24, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    Hi, nice article, but I feel (and please excuse me if I’m wrong) that it’s somewhat incomplete.

    You don’t mentioned about setting up the XenApp WebSite (you mention the XenApp Servuices Site though). I thought you needed the WebSite configuration to allow web access?

    Licensing is a real nightmare. I am getting errors like “Unable to connect to license server Empty”, even though I followed your instructions. I edited the Unfiltered policy to ensure that my server name was in there, but it still produces this error.

    I get other errors like “The remote server failed to execute the application launch request”. Also, “Citrix online plugin could not contact the server”.

    All in all I am completely FED UP with this bloody application!

    • February 24, 2011 at 5:51 pm

      Hi Bob,

      The XenApp Web Site is required if your clients run Citrix apps from a web browser. If the apps are run from the Citrix Plugin icon in the taskbar system tray, then only the XenApp Services Site is needed.

      I too have experienced issues where the XenApp server is unable to connect to the licensing server and clients trying to connect will receive a message like what you receive. In my case the XenApp server will write an error in the System event log with Event ID 9018, “Citrix XenApp cannot contact the license server…”. In my case I have always been able to rectify the problem by restarting the “Citrix Licensing” service, and almost immediately the XenApp server will re-establish contact with the licensing service. Periodically rebooting or restarting the licensing service in the evening has prevented the problem from re-occurring for me, but I’m sure there is a “better” fix out there for this.

      As for the “failed to execute the application launch request” error, if you are receiving this when starting apps from Internet Explorer you may want to try using an alternate browser and see if you get the error there. With IE I had to change the security zone and set up a trust for the Citrix Web Site, otherwise I would receive a similar message when trying to run apps. There weren’t any issues launching apps from Firefox, however.

      Anyhow, keep at it and I’m sure you get through these issues!

      Best Wishes,

      Aaron

  15. David
    March 3, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    HI !

    Great guide…

    I wonder if you had ever experienced an issue i have in a couple of farms of mine.
    The issue is Printing. We have a couple of Printers redirected and about thirty mapped from a Printserver. All Servers are W2k8R2 and Xenapp6. From time to time Printing is not possible from the published Apps. The Printer Q’s disappear and the Print Spooler Service is not crashing but we got to restart it in order to Print again.

    Do you have any idea?

    thanks from another IT Guy!

    • March 5, 2011 at 9:24 pm

      Hi David,

      Are the printers that you are having difficulty with Citrix client redirected printers or are they printers from your printserver that are mapped directly on your XenApp server?

      Best Wishes,

      Aaron

  16. Steve
    March 8, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    Hi Aaron – thanks for the guide. Same problems as vios here, IMA errors

    Event id 7024 – The Citrix Independent Management Architecture service terminated with service-specific error %%-2147483647.
    Event id 3601 – Failed to load initial plugins with error IMA_RESULT_FAILURE
    Event id 3609 – Failed to load plugin C:\Program Files (x86)\Citrix\System32\Citrix\IMA\SubSystems\RADESessionSs.dll with error IMA_RESULT_FAILURE

    Probably an issue with DB connectivity / permissions. Also – all these installs are on Hyper-V, which Citrix apparently supports. I’ve actually got the configuration (and hence IMA) working a few times but it’s hit and miss. Not sure if I want this in a production environment just yet.

    Also having to stop and disable mfcom service before installing hotfixes or configuration, it hangs on startup until after configuration is completed (after IMA can run). real pain in the neck!

    Close to ditching Xenapp 6. Have you encountered any of thesde issues?

    • March 10, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      Hi Steve,

      Sorry to here about your difficulties. I wish I could give you some specific advice regarding the problems you are experiencing.

      The general advice I can give is to start with a fresh install of Win2008R2 and proceed with installing XenApp. One possibility is that a Windows hotfix could be the cause of the problems you’re having, so you may want to test installing XenApp before you apply any Windows hotfixes. This is of course against the conventional advise to apply Windows updates immediately after installing Windows. Try this out during your testing on an isolated network segment depending on your company’s security standards. I have in the past experienced major issues with Windows hotfixes on Citrix servers due to the nature of XenApp being so tightly woven with the OS.

      Best Wishes and good luck,

      Aaron

    • ToddH
      March 12, 2011 at 12:53 am

      @Steve, I’ve had this same issue with XenApp 5 on Windows 2003 server. For whatever reason you have inconsistencies within your Citirx data store. First, I recommend running the XenApp data store checker tool.

      Run the consistency check and fix errors (verifies/cleans server entries):
      dscheck /Full SERVERS /Clean

      Run the consistency check and fix errors (verifies/cleans application entries):
      dscheck /Full APPS /Clean

      Run the consistency check:
      dscheck

      Next, you will need to recreate the local host cache and rapid application delivery:

      dsmaint recreatelhc
      dsmaint recreaterade
      dsmaint verifylhc

  17. doug stratton
    March 13, 2011 at 2:35 am

    Hi, i just found your discussion here and it is great but of course I am having a problem and wondered if you have any idea what could be going on. I have completed the install but with the plugin or using ie (i set up a xenapp web site also, after the pnagent was not working). I can get a list of the app with the plugin, but when I click on it i get Citrx online plugin could not contact the server, check your network connections, I am trying this from the server all this is installed on. If I try via web I get “the system could not logon you on. Ensure that you entered your details correctly (which I did, tried administrator id and also anoymous, which I allowed in the setup). SO i hope you can give me some ideas to try. Thanks. W2k8 r2, xenapp 6

  18. doug stratton
    March 14, 2011 at 10:41 am

    I got part of this working, I made silly mistake and forgot to turn on RDS License roll. So now I can connect with plugin (from same box, have not tried same on remote box) but still same problem with the regular wi, “the system could not log you on….

    Thanks for any suggestions

    • March 21, 2011 at 3:45 am

      Hi Doug,

      Were you ever able to resolve your issue with your clients being unable to connect to your XenApp server? I was thinking about your difficulties but wasn’t able to come up with any specific recommendations to resolve it.

      Best Wishes,

      Aaron

  19. Saad
    March 18, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    Hello,

    Great Job , Hope you can help on the following :

    Done everything step by step following the included guide. Everything is installed and working fine. When I try to publish any application through Xenapp like Winrar or even Notepad , I am getting the following error :

    “notepad” failed to start. The Citrix Server is unable to process your request to start this published application at this time.

    On Xenapp Event View it is showing Event ID 1480 and saying ” Failed to launch application notepad with command line c:\windows\system32\notepad.exe . ensure the application is installed and user has permission to launch it.

    Yes User has permissions to launch and program is installed. Giving that error to all applications not just notepad.

    One note is that the servers are not activated. Dont know if its relevant.

    Note that it is showing me that it is loggin on to the server but after 5 seconds it gives that error. Any ideas ?

    Thanks.

  20. Weeii
    April 14, 2011 at 7:14 am

    Thanks man this was awesome, just what I needed !

  21. Ashish
    April 20, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    hii admin
    i am trying to install xen app server 6. your guide helped me a lot thanks for it
    i m insatalling xen app on windows server 2008 R2 64 bit runing on VMware ESX 4.1.
    During the xen app server configuration i am getting following error message

    “The IMAService service failed to start.”

    my event log is below
    event id 18456: Login failed for user ‘NT AUTHORITY\NETWORK SERVICE’. Reason: Failed to open the explicitly specified database. [CLIENT: 10.21.35.95]

    I am installing this first time.. plz help me…

    my settings for configuration are

    Farm Information
    Action: Create a new farm
    Server farm name: vcl
    First Citrix administrator account: CITRIX5\Administrator
    Citrix License Server
    Citrix license server information will be entered later.
    Database Credentials
    Username: Administrator
    Domain: KEIT
    User Session Shadowing
    Remote control: Allowed
    Show shadow acceptance popup: No
    Log all shadow connections: No
    Zone: Default
    Xml service port number: 8080
    Server name (or URL) for the Online plug-in:
    Remote Desktop Users
    Add Anonymous users: No
    Add the list of users from the Users group: No
    Add the Authenticated Users: Yes

  22. Garufo
    May 9, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    Hi, I have a new installation: Web Interface 5.3 in DMZ, XenApp 6 in LAN (both Windows 2008 R2). At this moment Ive opened ports 1494, 443, 2598, 1604 (UDP) and 1111 (for XML, in both servers the same) from DMZ to XenApp. I have my RDP Licenses Server ok (in green) with the licenses. I configured XenApp with the RDP License Server parameter, and its displayed as ok, but when I logged in the Web Interface, the applications are showed, but with a warning: “Some resources has not been found. If this message…contact administrator”. If I click in whatever application, its displayed the error “Error trying to connect”…and nothing is open…
    Any suggest?

    • Garufo
      May 11, 2011 at 7:12 am

      Autoresponse to me about my problem: Windows 2008 R2 SP1, Citrix has a bug with it in Windows 2008 R2 with XenApp6, so dont install it…
      There is a Beta Hot fix to it http://support.citrix.com/article/CTX126711 , but id rather preffer to wait until the final release.
      greetings

      • May 11, 2011 at 10:07 pm

        Thanks for commenting on your own issue, Garufo. It is very helpful and much appreciated since I have not yet rolled out SP1 to my XenApp 6 servers yet. Cheers,

        Aaron

  23. May 10, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Hello Aaron,

    Thank you for this tutorial-like Screenshot-Fire.
    I was searching and searching where I could set up or change the Licensing – now I have a glue!

    great job!
    regards Fritz

  24. Saad
    May 11, 2011 at 7:18 am

    Yes that is true, Citrix has a bug in Server 2008 R2 SP1. Download both of these files and apply from Citrix website XA600W2K8R2X64001 and XA600W2K8R2X64002 . It will work like a charm after that. I have tried it .

    Thanks.

  25. Seve
    May 11, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    Great walkthrough!

    4 Citrix…glad they use the upside down i to let you know things will be a little whacked.

    Um, yea, during the first configuration of the XenApp server chose the new database instance… threw an error. Tried to install database locally, that threw errors (have installed sql server 2008 express R2 standalone before, works fine). Looks like msft is now bundling the management tool set and SP (nice), but this may be mucking up the xen install.

  26. Seve
    May 12, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    Found my problem, believe it was folder redirection…I am trialing several products, already have GPO’s for desktop/appdata/documents/startmenu redirection. When I joined this node to my terminal services OU it began redirecting my folders…this apparently kills the installation.

    • May 12, 2011 at 8:28 pm

      Thanks so much for following up with your issue, Steve. It’s good to know because I use folder redirection too, but I must not have run into it because I tend to add new XenApp servers to my domain after installation.

      Best regards,

      Aaron

  27. Nagaraju
    June 10, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    Hello,

    We installed Xenapp 6.0 for POC and published some test applications, able to launch test applications with domain admin and local admin privilege account but not with domain user account and get following error. if anyone knows answer for this, kindly post it

    “The service profile failed to load the user profile”

    Best Regards,
    Nagaraju

    • June 10, 2011 at 9:16 pm

      Hi Nagaraju,

      I’m not sure if this is related to the profile error that you are receiving. You may want to confirm that either the domain user, a domain group containing the domain user, or the “Authenticated Users” local group is a member of the “Remote Desktop Users” local group on the XenApp server. By default the Admins (domain and local) should have terminal/remote desktop access.

      Cheers,
      Aaron

    • Camon
      December 2, 2011 at 10:06 pm

      I had this issue as well. I’m making the following assumptions:
      1.) user(s) is/are apart of the Remote Desktop Users group.
      2.) You’re using roaming profiles.

      If you are using roaming profiles, make sure authenticated users has write access at the root of the network share. With Server 2008 R2, the profile is recreated with a .V2 extension at the end. So the user logging in will need access to write to the \\server\profiles\ share.

  28. June 17, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Great job on the #Citrix #XenApp 6 installation blog post. It worked perfectly for me.

  29. James Abraham
    July 22, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Any idea why I can’t eject Xenapp 6 VM DVD drive. XenApp 6 tools were installed after Win2008R2 was installed and before XenApp 6 was installed. but the DVD won’t eject now!!!

    • July 22, 2011 at 7:10 pm

      Hi James,

      I haven’t had that issue since my XenApp servers are all virtual and I use virtual CD/DVDs for most installs.

      If you can’t shut the system down or reboot (best option), perhaps you could try using a bent paper-clip on the little hole on most DVD drives. Be careful with this though because the operating system may still be trying to access the media. Meaning that the DVD could still be spinning and you could inadvertently scratch the DVD or potentially crash the OS (unlikely) if it is still in use.

      Aaron

  30. Mohanasundaram.K
    September 8, 2011 at 5:28 am

    Pls check your operating system version. it should be run in windows 2008 server R2

  31. Mohamad
    October 3, 2011 at 10:43 am

    HI,
    What an awesome Step By Step guide. :) Thanks A lot.

    Anybody know, how to get it as a PDF file?

  32. Mohammed
    October 12, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Hi Arron,

    Great Tutorial. I have a few questions though. What client do I use if I dont install WI on my Xenapp farm. I installed the online plugin but it keeps complaining that it cant see the server. You also said it’s a good idea to install WI on seperate servers, Presumably those servers would still need xenapp and joined to the farm.

    I guess what im asking is, can the xenapp server farm can be accessed without WI? if so what client is best, im coming from PS4.5 background and am finding it a bit confusing without program neighbourhood.

    Thanks.

    Regards
    Mohammed

  33. Effjay
    November 15, 2011 at 3:30 am

    great guide but am in a fix here. I installed the XenApp 6.0 for a POC. WI, License Server and XenApp all in one server. Right now the License Mgt Console refuses to come up it gives errror “cannot display page” the device or resource (localhost) is not set up to accept connections on port 8080. Also how long does the license grace period last. RIght now i cannot even attach an evaluation license. My clients are not totally impressed. its over 6dys

  34. MARTiN
    November 23, 2011 at 9:34 am

    Hi guys, I’m wondering if you’ve happened to run across the problem where using Folder redirection for the “Start menu” hides the Citrix applications published via Citrix Receiver in the start menu?

    I’m able to redirect the Start Menu, but only if I enable “Remove common program groups from Start Menu” in “User Configuration –> Policies –> Administrative Templates –> Start Menu and Taskbar” policy. Dilemma is that if I enable this policy to show only the redirected start menu items I cannot see the published applications in “Citrix Applications” folder, and if I don’t all things the users shouldn’t see are still there :(

    I’m using XenApp 6.5 on Windows Server 2008 R2 and Citrix Receiver for Windows 3

  35. Justin
    June 29, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    thanks a ton for this write-up Aaron! It was very helpful to me in establishing my own single server setup. One thing id like to note, is that when securing the access on the Xenapp websites, I was getting SSL Relay error 40 constantly. I did a ton of troubleshooting, but believe it or not, turning ON session reliability actually stopped the error from occurring. I just finished a test from an external pc, and im actually routing through the CSG and able to run apps. Again, thanks a TON for the write-up!

  36. Chinh
    August 14, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    Hi all guys! I already install citrix farm (1 server) work ok with http . Now I need to change from http to https. Please give me some advice , if yes you can show me step by step guide . I am working with xenapp 6.0 , windows 2008r2 sp1.

  37. seo
    February 1, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    “Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.”

  1. April 19, 2010 at 11:42 pm
  2. May 23, 2010 at 7:13 pm
  3. August 9, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Leave a comment